Gearing Up

The Whole Life Challenge is upon us.  The time is now to start thinking of ways to strategize in order to be successful.  I decided early on, that if I was going to do this, I would have to figure out a way to make it fun.  I see it as an opportunity to not only actively participate in good health, but to try new recipes, and learn how to cook better.  I’ve already started experimenting and I can honestly say that not only have I learned to cook better already, but I’m having so much fun with this that I could see myself sticking to this for the rest of my life.  

20130822-162808.jpg

Homemade Sriracha.  It is absolutely delightful on almost everything and is quite possibly the greatest condiment ever invented.  That’s right Heinz, you heard me!  I’m working on a WLC compliant version as we speak.   Oh yeah that’s pork shoulder sittin pretty in a nice brine.  If you’ve never tried brining anything, I suggest you start immediately.  It enhances the flavor exponentially.  

20130822-162821.jpg

Brined pulled pork with homemade bone broth, sriracha.  Over the top amazing.  

20130822-162753.jpg

Lamb Shanks from Sarah Fragoso’s Everyday Paleo Family cookbook.  By far the most delicious dish I’ve ever made myself.  

I encourage all of you to start gearing up as the Whole Life Challenge approaches.  Use the resources available.  Keep an eye out for group cooking sessions, potlucks, and other CrossFit Merge outings.  Need a recipe or 5?  Hit me up.  Heck, I might even make it for you.  Part of my plan is to make myself available to others who need help.  How’s that for resources?

20130822-162735.jpg

20130822-162717.jpg

This WOD had the epic energy seen only at a CrossFit Merge throwdown.

20130822-162704.jpg

Good times, post WOD at Merge.

20130822-172821.jpg

Chalk up!

Friday

All Levels Skill:  Clean – find new 1 rep max

Workout of the Day (WOD):

‘Elizabeth’

21-15-9

Cleans (135# for Men/93# for Women)

Ring Dips

Beginner Skill:

Hang Clean

1-1-1-1

Beginner Workout of the Day (WOD):

21-15-9 reps of:

Goblet Squats

Kettlebell Swings

Push Ups

Leave a Reply

