What Keeps You Coming Back…

There are days in which I don’t feel like working out. I get lazy, I’m tired, I get discouraged, and I come up with every excuse not come in and do a WOD. So what keeps me coming back? Here are 3 things that have kept me consistent, and hopefully they’ll help you too!

1) Keep a journal!!!! – There are days in which you won’t see nor feel improvement. You might not set the PR you were hoping for, you may not run as fast as you thought you could. Moments like that can sometimes take over and plain out make you give up. That’s when your journals come in handy. Look back just a few weeks or a couple of months and you’ll realize how far you’ve come in just that short amount of time! Keeping track of your workouts will aid you in measuring improvement and helping you enjoy how far you’ve come.

2) Have a gym buddy – We as coaches will email you and call you until you finally show up to class. However, if you have a gym buddy who texts you to make sure you show up, or someone who you have to carpool with in order to get the gym helps a ton! yes, obligation to someone else is sometimes what we need in order to keep us consistent. When a friend from the gym doesn’t text me to see where I am, I sometimes get my husband to text me to make sure I’m going to the gym 🙂

3) Don’t give yourself an out – Set the times in which you’re going to be coming in to the box in advance. On Sunday night, figure it all out. And don’t find excuses to miss out. Make it a point to plan your day accordingly so you make it into the box. Maybe set an alarm clock to remind to head out. I have an alarm that goes off at 4:40 pm everyday and says “Go get your WOD!”. I drop everything at that point and head on over to the box. I don’t give myself an out. Also, keep your gym clothes in the car. Prepare in advance and you won’t allow yourself to set up for failure.

What has kept you coming back? What tips can you share with the rest of us? Post your thoughts in the comments!

Skill:

Thruster

3-3-3-3

Workout of the Day (WOD):

10 rounds for time:

2 thrusters (155#/103# for women)

5 pull ups

10 push-ups

15 air squats

Beginner Workout of the Day (WOD):

13 minute AMRAP:

5 dumbbell thrusters (45#/25# for women)

10 pull ups

10 push-ups

10 air squats

Olympic Weightlifting Class:

Snatch Practice from Position 2 (right below the knee) with jerk boxes

One response to “What Keeps You Coming Back…

Leave a Reply

