Athlete Spotlight – LC Lim

This week’s Athlete Spotlight goes to none other than our very own LC Lim.  Talk about sweet, fun, genuine and darn athletic! This girl is the whole package and a bag of chips!  Since we’ve had the privilege of having her be part of our CrossFit Merge clan, she does nothing but impress us with her determination, stamina, dedication, and awesome looks.  LC is the type of person that will go out of her way to make you feel welcome and special.  She’s truly a gem and we are so happy to have her be a fellow Merger.  And now, without further ado, hear it directly from LC!

crossfittt

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

Hmmmm….. Almost a year. I remember doing the intro with Bryce. We did this AMRAP with burpees and box jumps and something else and were WRECKED. 7 mins of pure terror and horror and gasping for air. I was seriously like.. what IS THIS torture? And I thought I was inshape 😦

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

The powers of Bing. Haha nawww. Google. Heard about Crossfit, tried 2 in the area and I liked Merge. Merge sent me a postcard with exquisite penmanship and a hawaiian stamp and I knew I had made the right choice. Obviously.

What was your first CrossFit WOD experience like?

I don’t remember the very first proper class except getting introduced. Also I had heart palpitations before every class for a solid 4 months i think.  But I do remember the first time doing deadlifts… in the WOD. I was struggling like a crazy person, no gloves, hands were about to die, back was about to crack and I had a solid 2 rounds to finish. I was seeing spots, couldn’t breathe and had to lie down for a solid minute in between the WOD on the bench outside before I resumed the WOD. It was excruciating to shimmy my body in and out of my car for that ENTIRE month.

What is something not a lot of people know about you but you WISH more people COULD know?

I am epic music video lip syncing, prop sourcing, dancing connoisseur. See link below 🙂 Oh and I’m not American, contrary to popular belief. 🙂

 

What is your greatest CrossFit accomplishment thus far?

Survival. I am surprised I have not dropped a barbell on my head yet. Worst I’ve done was a gigantic bruise on my knee. Not too shabby for someone who wears her clothes backwards all the time.

What is your favorite WOD and why?

Dynamic WODS – running, jumping and bouncing around the gym in general. Station to station wods.

What is your least favorite WOD and why?

Rowing and Wall Balls.   Striders + WB combinations.  Russian KB + Box Jump Combo. Miguels Bday Wod. Anything that involves heavy weights.

What advice would you give a new member?

In the famous words of Nike. Just do it. Or Pumbaa – Hakuna Matata – it means no worries.

If you could be a superhero who would it be and why?

I would like to be a wizard like Gandalf. Because with that I would have a magical staff that would allow me to summon humongous flying mythical creatures that would take me to all the places I would like to visit. It would be the most amazing feeling to land my dragon serpent animal in the Costco Parking lot in Loz Feliz.

IMG_2636

If you were written about in the newspaper, on the front page, what would the headline say

“WHERE IS THE MASKED MUDDER NOW?” (if you did the mud run you’ll understand)

20130414-215116.jpg

Where do you see yourself in a year?

No idea. World is my oyster! Maybe getting another masters? Hopefully back here with all you fine fancy lovely people I’ve met at Merge. Crossfit Merge FTW 😀

IMG_2543

LC, we will miss you DEARLY!!! Come back to us soon.  We’ll be hoping for the same thing a year from now:  To have you back with us.  We love you bunches!!!

Wednesday All Levels/Intermediate:

Snatch

1-1-1-1-1-1

All Levels/Intermediate Workout of the Day (WOD):

3 rounds for time of:

Run 400 meters

14 toes to bar

7 snatches (95# for men/63# for women)

Beginner Skill:

Back Squat

3-3-3-3-3

Beginner Workout of the Day (WOD):

3 rounds for time of:

Run 400 meter run

14 v-ups

14 dumbbell power snatches alternating arms (45# for men/25# for women)

Olympic lifting Class

Clean practice with jerk boxes – focusing on that 3rd pull & position 1.

Leave a Reply

