Athlete Spotlight – Adrienne Wollman

It is such an absolute honor and privilege to introduce to you Adrienne Wollman. When 6:30 am rolls around, rain or shine, Adrienne walks into the box ready to tackle the WOD. And crush it she does!! Absolutely nothing phases her. Her WOD times are often admired and desired by several athletes that attend the later classes. Don’t let her sweet demeanor and polite attitude fool you. She’s a tiny ball of DYNAMITE!! They say best things come in small packages and with Adrienne, that is nothing but the truth. Her strength, determination, consistency, and athletic spirit is that of giants!

And here’s Adrienne 🙂

adrienne

 

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

Just over 2 years now.

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

I knew when I moved out here that I wanted to find another CrossFit gym, so I yelped it. Merge was the closest one to where I was living at the time and I figured I’d give it a shot. I’ve been hooked ever since.

What was your first CrossFit Merge WOD experience like?

I’d been doing CrossFit for a few months before I started at Merge so it wasn’t TERRIBLE…but I’d also just spent the previous 3 weeks moving across the country, attempting to find a place to live and starting a new job (while not really doing any physical activity) so my first WOD at Merge was still a swift kick in the butt…Oh wait, every WOD is.

What is something that not a lot of people know about you but you WISH more people COULD know?

I coached diving for 5 years while I was in school before moving out to LA, so if anyone wants to learn any dives or flips, I can teach you!

What is your greatest CrossFit Merge accomplishment thus far?

Definitely being able to do un-banded pull-ups in workouts! When I first started CrossFit, I had to use the green band for pull-ups and I couldn’t even pull it down to get my foot in, haha. It was so frustrating — I distinctly remember thinking, “Alright…I just need to at least get to a band I can get my foot through!”

What is your favorite WOD and why?

Anything that involves running or box jumps. They’re fun and feel really natural to me. It’s easy to get into a good rhythm.

What’s your least favorite WOD and why?

My least favorite WOD is definitely anything with rowing. That is the one movement that makes me instantly feel like I need to vomit…Rowing is pretty much my CrossFit arch nemesis.

What advice would you give a new member?

Have fun! One of the things that I love about CrossFit is that I actually look forward to coming into the gym in the morning. We have such a great, supportive, awesome group of people here…it’s hard not to get excited about going in to the gym. Plus, if you’re having fun, odds are good that you’re going to stick with it and get better. Win/win. Also keep a journal so that you can keep track of benchmark WODs, your max lifts and see how far you’ve come.

Out of all the hours in the day (both sleeping and awake) how much time do you spend working out? Thinking about CrossFit? Dreaming it? Watching vids? etc.

It depends on how sore I am. Just kidding (sort of). A fair amount…I always check the WOD before I go in and I frequently find myself trying to apply CrossFit skills to other things.

What is your favorite movie and why?

The Great Escape! Steve McQueen is a total bada** and I’m a bit of a WWII history nerd.

If you could be anywhere in the world right now, where would you be and why?

If I could be anywhere in the world, I’d definitely be in Sevilla. It’s hands down my favorite city — you can just wander around the streets for hours and always find something new and interesting.

What do you like to do for fun?

Drawing, riding my motorcycle and going on adventures.

If you could be any superhero who would you be? Why?

Probably Hiro Nakamura (from Heroes) because come on, who wouldn’t want the ability to manipulate space and time?

Where do you see yourself in 1 year?

I have no idea and I’m completely okay with that. I like seeing how things unfold without planning too much. Hopefully I’ll be doing more workouts RX though!

Adrienne, we are sooooo glad you’re part of our community. You enrich our lives in more ways than you can imagine. Keep up the good work, and maybe we can have a diving class here at merge?! 😉

Thursday: All Levels and Beginner

Skill: Spend 10 minutes finding a 5 rep max box jump height.

Review the dumbbell power snatch and double-unders

Workout of the Day (WOD):

12 minute AMRAP of:

5 toes to bar

10 dumbbell snatches, alternating arms each, 5 each arm (50# for men/30# for women)

20 double-unders

Intermediate Class Only

Skill: Kipping muscle-up practice instead of the 5 rep max box jump

Leave a Reply

