Athlete Spotlight – Ivdan Vargas

Ivdan Vargas is one of the coolest peeps you’ll meet at Merge.  He may appear to be quiet and reserved, but put a kettlebell in his hands or a barbell on his back and POW! He becomes a beast!  Not to mention he makes a killer tilapia (you all should consider asking him for the recipe).  Ivdan is so determined and strong.  He’s gotten his nutrition dialed in, his WODs all in order and it’s showing.  But enough from me, hear it directly from our very own Ivdan!

photo

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

As of today, I’ve been doing it for approximately 7 months.

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

I was actually looking into joining a traditional gym, but after some thorough research online I quickly realized CrossFit was a more LA thing to do. I searched for local CrossFit boxes and found Merge was nearby.

What was your first CrossFit WOD experience like?

It was brutal workout. I remember thinking, “(bleep) What have I gotten myself into!?”

What is something that not a lot of people know about you but you WISH more people COULD know?

As a child in Africa, I was attacked by a giant baboon.

What is your greatest CrossFit accomplishment thus far?

Finally being able to do several consecutive strict pull-ups with no rubber bands.

What is your favorite WOD and why?

I really enjoy WODS that involve any variation of the squat. They always seem to challenge me the most.

What is your least favorite WOD and why?

Any WOD involving 400+ m runs! I’m always gasping to breathe. 

What advice would you give a new member?

Show up to class and talk to people! It’s always comforting to realize your not suffering alone through the workouts, but in all seriousness the community aspect of CrossFit is indispensable to your success.

Out of all the hours in the day (both sleeping and awake) how much time do you spend working out? Thinking about CrossFit? Dreaming it? Watching vids? etc.

I have a very sedentary job, and as such I find it’s definitely necessary to invest time in planning physical activity into my schedule. I always try to exercise 4 days a week at a minimum which includes CrossFit, jogging, and swimming on weekends.

If you had one super power, what would it be and why?

That’s a deep question. I think I would choose to have infinite wisdom. It would be awesome to know everything. That or the power to be invisible when no one is looking at me.

If you were written about in the newspaper, on the front page, what would the headline say?

“Young Man Seeks Revenge on Baboon”

If you were stranded on a dessert island what items would you bring with you apart from, food, clothes and water?

A knife, maybe some rope, and bacon 

When was the last time you did something for the first time?

This is not something recent, but about a little over a year ago I went skydiving. It was a crazy awesome experience! It’s definitely something I plan to do again.

Where do you see yourself in 1 year?

I really want to do a sprint triathlon! My plans are to either be training for one or to have done one already.

Ivdan, we are so glad you’re part of our CrossFit Merge clan (and that the baboon let you go)!  Keep us posted on your sprint triathlon…we’d LOVE to come cheer you on!!! 😀

Thursday Skill:

Push Press
 
3 – 3 – 3 – 3 – 3
 
3 total sets of 30 seconds handstand hold, or 3 max rep attempts at handstand push-ups.  Do 1 set in between push press sets for total of 3 sets.
 
Workout of the Day (WOD):
 
5 rounds for time of:
 
10 push presses/jerks (115/73)
10 toes 2 bar or v-ups
10 hand release push-ups
Leave a Reply

