Athlete Spotlight – Jose Escobar

 

 

Athlete Spotlights are back!!! And to kick off this incredibly awesome new year, we have our very own Jose.  Jose is the winner of last year’s Summer Throwdown (Almost Rx) and the Winter Team Throwdown (Rx – along with Stephanie and Jen).  As it is with any successful athlete, Jose is consistent and gives it his all every time he comes in.  His great attitude, teachable spirit, and fun perspective has made his CrossFit journey an awesome one.  We are honored to have Jose as a member of our CrossFit Merge family.  It is people like him that continue to bring class and athleticism to our box.  And without further ado, here’s Jose!

jose

 

How long have you been doing CrossFit?
 
I have been doing CrossFit for almost 3 years. I started my CrossFit workouts at CrossFit Downey when a friend told me about some of the WODs he was doing at CrossFit Monrovia.  I went for an introduction WOD and knew that CrossFit was for me
 
How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?
 

I moved to Glendale in early 2012 and had to find a CrossFit after not working out for a couple months.  I looked around and came across CrossFit Merge.  I came to the intro class and liked the vibe, the people, and the coaches.

What was your first CrossFit WOD experience like?
 

My first CrossFit WOD was extremely challenging.  It was 100 sit up, 100 pull-ups, and maybe kettle bell swings.  Of course, every one else finsihsed way before me and I thought I was never going to finished.  What was cool and different for me was that people I didn’t know then were cheering me on which helped a lot to complete the WOD.  Needless to say I was sore for the rest of the week.

What is something that not a lot of people know about you but you WISH more people COULD know? 

Some people know that I love playing tennis.  I play on Sundays in a Tennis League and know that CrossFit helps my game a lot

What is your greatest CrossFit accomplishment thus far?
 
Winning the individual Summer 2012 almost-RX throwdown and the Team RX throwdown last December are my top accomplishments.
jose2
 
What is your favorite WOD and why?
 

I don’t think I have a favorite.  I like WODs that challenge me, and most of them do.  I have a love-hate relationships with sprints.  I love them because they are extremely challenging to me and make me give my all, and I hate them because of the same reasons.

What is your least favorite WOD and why?
 

I would say kipping pull-ups.  After all this time doing CrossFit, I cannot do more than a few kipping pull-ups because I lose the rhythm of the kip.  I’m still working at it though.

What advice would you give a new member?
 

Have fun and enjoy the WODs.  Challenge yourself and remember that what matters is that you finish the WODs not that you finish first or last.  Set short and long term goals and celebrate all of them when you reach them.  Keep a log of your WODs and you will see how you keep improving your times/lifting weights.

Out of all the hours in the day (both sleeping and awake) how much time do you spend working out? Thinking about CrossFit? Dreaming it? Watching vids? etc.
 

My brain starts working after my morning coffee.  I get to work at 7 am and after turning on my computer I check what is the WOD for that day.  I start getting mentally ready in the morning and may think about it a couple more times throughout the day. 

If you had one super power, what would it be and why?
 
It would have to be super-speed like the Flash.  I can imagine Cory telling us to run the large block and I would be done before he could finish his sentence.

If you were stranded on a dessert island what items would you bring with you apart from, food, clothes and water? 
 

A map and good shoes so I could start running and find my way back.

When was the last time you did something for the first time?
 

December 2012 team throwdown.  I had done team WODs before but never a team throwdown.  It was a lot of fun and had the opportunity to workout  with two great athletes, Jen and Steph, and compete against other great teams. 

Where do you see yourself in 1 year?
 
Hmmm, I would have to say mastering the kipping pull-ups and passing the advance test.
 
Jose, thank you for being a part of our Merge clan.  You can officially have the name, FLASH!  We love having you around and we know that you’ll be rocking that advance class in no time! 😀
 

All Levels and Beginner Class

 
Skill:
 
high bar back squat
 
3 – 3 – 3 – 3 – 3 – 3
 
Workout of the Day 
 
12 tabata rounds of:
 
Goblet Squats (70/44)
Kettlebell swings (70/44)
 
1 round is:
20 seconds of: squats
10 seconds rest
20 seconds of: swings
10 seconds rest
 
Record lowest scores
Leave a Reply

