This Deserves a Repost

So while we normally do Athlete Spotlights on Tuesday, and only once for a member, this photo of Justin deserves a repost of his spotlight.

20121115-223253.jpg
Let’s get to know Justin again.

Ladies and gentlemen, it’s that time again…our Athlete Spotlight is here! This time, we have none other than Justin Sevakis. Justin joined CrossFit Merge late last year and has come such a long way. We are so impressed by all his athletic accomplishments. Consistency, determination and hard work are not far from Justin’s WOD vocabulary. He started off coming once a week and is now showing up consistently 3-4 times a week. Justin listens to all the advice the coaches share with him and makes an effort to implement it. He checks his ego at the door and has had tremendous improvements!! There’s no recipe to being successful at crossfit…show up consistently, listen to your coaches, and give your body time to learn the movements correctly. Justin has done this without a shadow of a doubt and the results are undisputable. Well, enough of my rambling, here’s Justin!

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

I technically started in November ’11, but then I hurt my back, then came the holidays and a double-whammy of the flu. So… three months in earnest?

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

I realized I should probably join a gym, so I googled for gyms close to me. I hadn’t heard of Crossfit before, but it sounded interesting, and Crossfit Merge was both REALLY close and had a great score on Yelp.

What was your first CrossFit Merge WOD experience like?

I think we all know the answer to this one. I think I repeated “please don’t throw up” to myself a few times, and then “please somehow summon the strength to climb your front stairs” upon returning home afterwards. I was really starting from zero, so I was drenched and could barely stand afterwards. That part doesn’t change much, does it?

What is something that not a lot of people know about you but you WISH more people COULD know?

I’ve spent the bulk of my life in front of a TV or monitor of some sort, and yet have perfect vision. So much for all that advice from mom!

What is your greatest CrossFit Merge accomplishment thus far?

Easily, it’s losing 26 lbs — and counting — since the Holidays. I still can’t believe it when I see myself in the mirror.

What is your favorite WOD and why? Least favorite WOD and why?

Honestly, I have no favorites. (Really, if I can remember the WOD without writing it down afterwards, that’s usually indicative of it being more punishing than anything.) My motto is: show up, do what’s on the board with an open mind, adjust to your level, and collapse when done.

What advice would you give a new member?

It’s really easy to be intimidated by Crossfit (and the regulars that seem to be superhuman). But just come consistently, and push yourself AS HARD AS YOU CAN. If you feel like you’ve plateaued, it’s because you’re not expecting enough of yourself. After a month or so, you’ll notice a HUGE difference. Oh, and REALLY follow directions when lifting, or you can really hurt yourself!

Out of all the hours in the day (both sleeping and awake) how much time do you spend working out? Thinking about CrossFit? Dreaming it? Watching vids? etc.

Depends on how busy I am. I’m a workaholic, so preferably I can compartmentalize and not spend more than a few minutes thinking about Crossfit when I’m not actually there and doing it. But since I recently upped my subscription and am planning on coming almost every day, it seems like this stuff might be taking over my life. I can think of worse obsessions…

Would you rather watch a sitcom, a reality show, a police drama, a legal drama, or a medical drama? Or something else? Why?

I went to film school and am trying to make stuff for a living, so I have to admit I’m a total snob when it comes to this stuff. Unless it’s something so really and truly great that it transcends its genre and its medium, like Breaking Bad or something, I’d probably opt for an obscure foreign art house movie or an anime series.

Would you rather have super strength or super intelligence? Why?

I have spent my life in pursuit of super intelligence, to the point I neglected my body entirely. My thinking was, “someone smart enough can always find a way to get someone dumb and strong to do their bidding.” But as I got older and more experienced, I realized that those dumb-and-strong people usually suck. It’s better to live a balanced life and be able to just do stuff yourself.

What was the question again?

Which is your favorite childhood hero?

My heroes growing up were French electronica musician Jean-Michel Jarre, computer game programmer Bill Heinnman and Bloom County creator Berke Breathed. I was a weird kid.

The thing is, all of those guys eventually got old, and the world left them behind, their work feeling like throwbacks rather than anything of substantial value today. So I prefer to take my inspiration from my friends, and from those around me. You tend to be let down less that way.

If somebody handed you a magic lamp and gave you three wishes, what would they be?

Trying to fix the world means both taking responsibility for it, and offering a better option. I can offer no substantive ideologies on how to really improve our lot — the fights for the important things (freedom, equality, a less corrupt governance) are as important to hashing out the end result as the goal itself. Wishing a shortcut into place would probably only cause greater unintended socioeconomic issues.

But, thinking superficially, I could sure do a lot with a billion dollars and some beach-side property!

One more… Eh, let’s fix global warming, ’cause we’re never gonna figure out a way around that anyway and it’s scary.

Where do you see yourself in 1 year?

My life is in a period of transition right now, as I just started my new video post-production business, so it’s really hard to say. By the looks of things I’ll at least be in quite a bit better shape. And hopefully a little further along in the pursuit of the good things in life.

Justin, we are so proud of all your accomplishments and we couldn’t be happier that you’re part of our box. And maybe since you’re a film maker…you can help us make a CrossFit Merge movie?

Friday’s Workout

Skill: Deadlift

3-3-3-3-3 touch and go

Workout of the Day

12 minute AMRAP of:

15 kettlebell swings (53#/35# for women)
100 meter med ball run (20#/14# for women)
30 double-unders

Leave a Reply

