Athlete Spotlight – Jen Rynda

Let me introduce to you one of the pillars of CrossFit Merge, Jen Rynda.  Jen comes in consistently, works hard and it shows in all she has achieved and continues to achieve.  You may not have met Jen yet, but I’m sure you’ve seen her insane scores and weights on the whiteboard and the leader board.  There’s not a time she doesn’t come in the box and blow us away with her strength and determination.  She’s truly an inspiration to all of us – I am always hearing people use her times and scores as their goal!  One thing that is incredibly endearing about Jen is her sweet and friendly personality.  She is such a kind-hearted and wonderful person to be around. To me, she’s one of those people who help you to feel better about yourself when around them.

And as you can probably tell, I could talk about Jen all day, but i’ll let her tell you the rest 🙂

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

Close to a year and half. I’d like to say time fly’s when you’re having fun!

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

I heard about CrossFit from a friend that I used to work with about 4 years ago. I was so busy with moving to LA and starting a new job it took me about 3 years to actually come around to checking it out and when I did CrossFit Merge was the gym that came up on my Google search.

What was your first CrossFit WOD experience like?

Not including the trial class it was TOUGH! I went to a 6:30am class and it was full of experienced members. The WOD had 3 or 4 rounds of 20 burpees, 400m run, and 20 body weight squats. The worst part about the work out was the entire class lapped me on my first set of burpees, I didn’t think I would ever finish.

How many hours in the day do you spend thinking/talking/dreaming about CrossFit?

I usually wake up, check the WOD, either complain to myself or do a happy dance. Sometime after I will text Team Vegan to see when we are going to train and then plan my day accordingly. I would say all in all maybe an hour, depends on how long the dance takes.

Is there anything you’d like to people to know about you?

I am actually a professional synchronized swimmer. Please ask Cory and Sarah for my credentials.

What is your greatest CrossFit accomplishment thus far?

Being able to RX most workouts, I had set that as my goal about six months ago and can say I have accomplished it.

What is your favorite WOD and why?

I don’t have a favorite WOD. Oddly enough the harder the WOD the better in my opinion. I enjoy a chance to push myself and accomplish the perceived impossible.

What is your least favorite WOD and why?

Sorry Miguel but I have to pick your Birthday WOD! It was so hard! (The only WOD that does not apply to my rule above)

What advice would you give a new member?

I would say allow yourself time to improve both physically and mentally. Sometimes it can be hard and defeating watching others flying through workouts when you are struggling, however you have to remember they started in the same place you did. Also I would say meet someone new every day, the gym we go to has a great community so say Hi to someone you don’t know.

If you could trade places with any other person for a week, famous or not famous, living or dead, real or fictional, with whom would it be and why?

I would trade places with my boyfriend Bert. He always tells me I am crazy, so I would like to have the opportunity to confirm that for myself.

If you could be any superhero whom would you be and why?

I would be Superman! I would love the ability to fly, I think not only soaring all around the world would be great but also the ability to fly would make running the large block a lot easier. I can picture it already, I would sprint ahead of the group to make the first turn and as soon as I was out of sight I would fly around the rest of the block until back in sight, in which I would resume running and not be out of breath. : )

Where do you see yourself one year from now?

That is hard to say, hopefully attending the advanced class doing countless handstand pushups, pull-ups, and muscle ups.

Jen, we are so proud of you.  We look forward to continuing to watch you grow and achieve all that you set your mind to, because we know you will!

Tuesday – All Classes

Skill:

Press

4-4-3-3-2-2

Workout of the Day (WOD):

5 rounds, each 2 minutes long of:

Run 100 meters
Max burpee pull-ups in the remainder of the time (advanced option is to do chest to bar pull-ups)
Rest 1 minutes between rounds

Score is total burpees after 5 rounds.

One response to “Athlete Spotlight – Jen Rynda

Leave a Reply

