Athlete Spotlight – Chris Molnar

One of my favorite things is getting to do the Athlete Spotlight.  I get to find out so many neat things about all of you, and this time is no exception!  Chris is one of our newer members, but he has embraced the CrossFit ideals like very few newbies have done.  He’s become one of our 6:30 am regulars, always comes in with a great attitude and lots of energy.  Chris is extremely consistent, logs all his WODs, even takes monthly photographs to track improvement!  If that’s not commitment, I don’t know what is.  

Ladies and gentlemen…here’s Chris Molnar!

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

I’ve been doing Crossfit for 3 months

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

When I decided to change from a gym to Crossfit, I did a search online to find a Crossfit gym near my house.  That afternoon I drove over, talked with Bryce and started Crossfit the next morning.

What was your first CrossFit WOD experience like?

I had no idea what to expect for my first WOD.  It included box jumps, burpees and Wall Ball Shots.  It was definitely challenging, but not enough to turn me off from Crossfit.  A great intro to the gym.  Though it’s where I first learned to hate Wall Ball Shots…

What is your greatest CrossFit accomplishment thus far?

My greatest accomplishment so far is running a mile in 6:38.  Typically I’m at 8-10min, so was pretty happy with my time.  Just can’t wait to beat it next time we run!

What is your favorite WOD and why?

For some reason I enjoy pull-ups, so I like WODs with those included.  I’m not quite there without bands yet, but hopefully I will be soon

What is your least favorite WOD and why?

My least favorite WOD is anything with Wall Ball Shots.  Give me anything but Wall Ball Shots!

What advice would you give a new member?

A piece of advice I’d give to new members is go at Crossfit with all you have.  You’re not going to get much out of it if you’re only coming every so often and not putting in your full effort while you’re there.  Luckily, I haven’t seen really any of that at Merge (the supportive atmosphere helps with that). Just like everything else in life, you’re only going to get out of it what you put in.

How many hours of the day do you spend thinking about CrossFit? (Asleep or awake…)

I’d say I think about Crossfit for a few hours a day, especially if I miss a class.  It tends to come up in conversation at least once a day (okay… maybe I bring it up and how much I like it, no matter how forced into the conversation it may be…) Haven’t started having Crossfit dreams yet…

What kind of music do you like to workout to?

I like to workout to 90s music (Weezer, Greenday) , something upbeat and familiar to me.  Throw in some happy, cheesy songs and some classic oldies (Billy Joel, Billy Idol) and for me that’s a great workout mix

What was your favorite movie and why?

Mememto is my favorite movie.  I like the idea of doing a movie non-linearly and making the audience think about what’s going on and figuring out what’s happening in a non-standard fashion.  It’s a unique and bold way of telling a story and I like it.

Thanks for being such an asset to our CrossFit Merge community, Chris.  It’s people like you, with your dedication and passion, that makes our box such an awesome place.  Keep up the good work!

Tuesday

All Classes:

Skill

Back Squat

5-5-5-5-5

Workout of the Day (WOD):

Karen

150 wall ball shots (20# for men/14# for women)

Leave a Reply

