Athlete Spotlight – Tracey and Adam

Tracey and Adam are some of the coolest peeps here at CrossFit Merge!  In all honesty, their dedication and “game-on” attitude have really blown me away.  It’s not often you meet a couple who are so awesome together, while striving to be successful at CrossFit as a team.  They are one of the most determined, sweetest people I know.  It’s such a pleasure to see them set PR’s, finish WODs, cheer each other and others on, and see them grow as athletes.  It’s truly quite awesome.  Not to mention the fact that they are so incredibly creative! Seriously, you should see the stuff they make/create (yes, I’ve seen their stuff on facebook!).  So as usual, enough with my rambling… get a feeling for their awesomeness directly from them!

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

Tracey: Eight months.

Adam: About 8 Months.

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

Tracey: My friend Mike does a combo of Krav Maga and CrossFit, he went from fat to fab… That was a huge motivator to try CrossFit. We found CrossFit Merge on Yelp actually. I live and die by that site and it so happens that Bryce was cool beans for the 1 on 1.  the later class times worked for Adam.

Adam: I’d wanted to start working out for awhile, but never figured out what I wanted to do. And I’d been hearing a lot about Crossfit  so I looked up “Glendale Crossfit gyms” online. Tracey and I were originally going to go to another one (it probably showed up first in google) but I was working on the west side at the time and their latest class was 6:30. So then we found Merge with later classes, and I’ll say I’m pretty happy that other place didn’t work with my schedule.

What was your first CrossFit WOD experience like?

Tracey: I think I got two and a half rounds in for that whole seven minutes of torment. I had my mom pick me up afterwards. I made her pull over on the way home as I was sure I was going to throw up, but i managed to keep it down! When I got home I fell out of the car because my legs wouldn’t hold me up. I wish I was kidding.

Adam: First WOD was the one on one with Bryce, and I literally passed out after a round and half. I had to lay down outside on the concrete. It’s was pretty embarrassing. But I knew right away that it was exactly what I was looking for.

Is there anything you’d like to people to know about you?

Tracey: I have naturally angry eyebrows… I’m not actually angry. I’m mostly nice, unless I see someone littering. Tracey smash!

Adam: I’m not rude, just a little shy – but I’ll also try anything once and I’m usually one of the first to volunteer for something.

What is your greatest CrossFit accomplishment thus far?

Tracey: I can run a mile non stop! This may not seem like a big deal for some, but when I first started I couldn’t run at all due to agonizing shin splints and shortness of breath. I have some sexy triceps and I can wear shorts without shame- it’s the little things.

Adam: I don’t have a specific accomplishment, but I’m really happy that I’m lifting a lot more weight than when I started, and I’m starting to see RX next to my name on a few WODs. One thing that’s really empowering is when we carry other people on our backs. I never knew I could that, it’s pretty awesome knowing I can.

What is your favorite WOD and why?

Tracey: I love weightlifting movements incorporated in the WODs. Any workout leaving my arms or legs barely functional makes me a happy camper.

Adam: I like the ones with dumbbell push presses. I like presses and push presses a lot, so I like them in the WOD too.

What is your least favorite WOD and why?

Tracey: I dislike WODs with dead lifts as I always manage to have form issues. I don’t like the inevitable stiff back the next 2 days.

Adam: I don’t like the ones with deadlifting in them, I just get tired and my form gets bad and my back starts to hurt.

What advice would you give a new member?

Tracey: Suffering will bring you eventual joy (and addiction)! CHANGE YOUR DIET. Write down your weights and be consistent.

Adam: Make sure you fill out your journal, it’s really going to surprise you how much you improve and you’ll want a record of it.

How many hours of the day do you spend thinking about CrossFit? (Asleep or awake…)

Tracey: Enough to ruin my social life with non-CrossFitters! Sometimes I spontaneously do burpees when I hear The Black Keys now (I kid… kinda). I can’t wait to escape work to get sweaty, it’s getting weird man!

Adam: Oh man, I’m to a point that all I want to do while I’m awake is go to crossfit. So, uh, a lot.

If you could trade places with any other person for a week, famous or not famous, living or dead, real or fictional, with whom would it be and why?

Tracey: Mark Twain, I think he may have invented modern day sarcasm. Or Doctor Who‘s companion, any of them! Space + timeywimey + alien monsters = adventure.

Adam: Indiana Jones. Who wouldn’t want to go on epic adventures finding historical artifacts while fighting Nazis? (excluding the crystal skull refrigerator movie thing).

Who would win in a fight — a ninja or a pirate? Explain why.

Tracey: Probably a ninja as less rum would be involved.

Adam: If you’re talking about old school pirates like pirates of the Caribbean  then probably the Ninjas. the pirates would just be drunk. But if you’re talking about the modern Somalian type pirates, probably them. They have better guns.

What are your favorite hobbies?

Tracey: Napping, video games with Adam, painting things for barter, finding new places to go on the Vespa.

Adam: I like to build random things – I just finished making an acoustic guitar, I make iPhone apps (shameless plug download my latest – “Magic Roller Coaster”), ride my scooter, play a lot of video games, board games, movies, play Skyrim with Tracey.

What was your favorite book as a child and why?

Tracey: Enders Game! It’s a compelling sci-fi space adventure with a twist.

Adam: Lord of the Flies – I still have a fear of being stranded on an island. Funny story about that, Tracey once asked me if I could bring one thing to a deserted island what would it be, and I said “You, you’ve killed and gutted a pig before. I’d have no idea what to do with the pig after I caught it”.

Where do you see yourself one year from now?

Tracey: A month from getting married! We’re going to look sooooo awesome after all that CrossFit. If I find myself needing to climb a coconut tree in Cancun I’ll totally be strong enough to do it.

Adam: In a year I’ll probably be pretty excited and anxious since we’ll be about a month away from getting married. Looking forward to some vacation time. I’ll be in better shape and able to pull ups without a band too.

Tracey and Adam, you guys are already looking incredibly awesome!! We wish you the best on your CrossFit journey and can’t wait to see what you’ll look like in your wedding attire 😉  And the rest of you, talk to Tracey and Adam, they’re some of the most creative people you’ll ever get to meet — oh! and download Magic Roller Coaster….it’s so much fun and soooo addicting! 😀

Tuesday’s

All Classes:

Skill:

50 meter sprints, on the minute for 10 minutes – Max effort sprints and rest the remainder of the minute.

Workout of the Day (WOD):

15 min amrap of:

24 doubleunders
12 burpees
6 pull-ups (chest to bar for intermediate)

Post times to comments

Leave a Reply

