Athlete Spotlight – Erik Fernandez

Let me introduce to you Erik Fernandez.  I could come up with a bunch of adjectives to describe Erik, but nothing wraps it up better than just plain awesome.  He works incredibly hard at making each WOD intense and efficient.  We see him come in week in and week out, often staying after class to ask questions and always finding a way to make the WOD challenging. In doing all these things, we have seen him improve very quickly.  It’s so inspiring to see athletes be so dedicated!  So without further ado, here’s Erik!

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

About 7 months, but the 1st 3 months I was hampered with sickness and injuries…Grrr

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

Last summer my wife’s cousin kept talking about Crossfit, like non-stop. To be honest I was annoyed by it because I really didn’t understand where he was coming from. So by December I decided to try it. I googled the closest one in Glendale and Merge was one of them.

What was your first CrossFit Merge WOD experience like?

I don’t remember much. All I know was I was gasping for air and thinking to myself “I’m going to die.” I guess my body was not accustomed to this kind of workout. I think I may have skipped a couple of classes after my first WOD (my body was begging me to stay home…hahaha).

What is something that not a lot of people know about you but you WISH more people COULD know?

I’m into martial arts and weaponry.  I hold a 3rd degree brown belt in Kenpo and I collect weapons, like swords, knives, bow/arrow, blow guns, just in case a zombie apocalypse would happen…you know…hahaha

What is your greatest CrossFit Merge accomplishment thus far?

Every time I get a “PR,” I consider that as accomplishment. But my “Greatest’” I think was being able to do the kipping pull ups with a bad shoulder. Although I still need to clean up my technique, just the thought of “I did it or I can do it” with my injury, makes it a little special.

What is your favorite WOD and why?

Anything with lifting and cardio. I really need to work on my upper body strength and lose excess fat.

Least favorite WOD and why?

AMRAP with Burpees and Box jumps. Enough said.

What advice would you give a new member?

Come to class and listen to your coaches’ advice and instructions. Oh yeah and Breathe.

Out of all the hours in the day (both sleeping and awake) how much time do you spend working out? Thinking about CrossFit? Dreaming it? Watching vids? etc.

I play basketball 3 times a week and the rest of week I do Crossfit (home or Merge).  I talk about it everyday and was told by my friends and co-workers to SHUT UP already. That’s how bad it got. Even my lovely wife got tired of me talking about it and I’m currently not “allowed” to talk about Crossfit during dinner time…hahahaha.

What is your favorite movie and why?

Blazing Saddles by Mel Brooks. It’s an old movie maybe mid-70s or 80s…super funny, a western spoof. The comedy was so different then from today’s comedy.  I think if the movie came out in this era, Mel Brooks would’ve been sued or banned.  If you guys haven’t seen it, check it out and you’ll know what I’m talking about.

If you could be anywhere in the world right now, where would you be and why?

-Japan. Why? Because Nihon wa subarashi kunidesu. (Japan is awesome)

What do you like to do for fun?

My wife and I love to go to the movies, try new cuisine and go on mini vacations. Also I love basketball, as I mentioned earlier, I play 3 times a week, yeah pretty boring.

If you could be any superhero who would you be? Why?

I would be Batman.  I would love to have his skills, brains and determination.  He doesn’t give up no matter what the odds are. Wouldn’t mind his money either.

Where do you see yourself in 1 year?

Home…taking care of my daughter.  Yes, I’m going to be a dad. Yippee!!

Congratulations on all your accomplishments, but most importantly, on becoming a soon-to-be-daddy!!!! We look forward to seeing you and your little one rock the CrossFit Merge world! 😀

Monday

Intermediate Skill

-Split Jerks 1-1-1-1-1-1-1

-3 max flex arm hangs

Workout of the Day (WOD):

12 min AMRAP

-6 dumbbell split jerks, alternate legs (50# for men/30# for women)
-8 pull-ups (chest to bar advanced)
-24 double-unders

Beginner/All Levels’ Skill

Press 2-2-2-2-2

Workout of the Day (WOD):

12 min AMRAP

-6 burpee box jumps (24” for men/20” for women)
-12 sit-ups
-24 double-unders

Post Times to Comments

One response to “Athlete Spotlight – Erik Fernandez

  • Marianoel

    Kipping toes 2 bar practice

    3 rounds, each 1 minute long of:
    100 meter run then max toes to bar or v-ups
    1 minute rest between rounds

    WOD

    For time:

    3 rounds of:
    10 hang power snatches (75/53)
    10 burpees
    Then run 800 meters
    3 rounds of:
    10 hang power snatches
    10 burpees

    Beginners will substitute kettlebell swings

Leave a Reply

