Athlete Spotlight – Megan Hubbard

CrossFit shoe-lover, WOD-crusher, totally awesome Megan Hubbard is our featured Athlete!  Megan is truly one of a kind.  Her sweet disposition and kind smile just seem to always light up the room.  But don’t let that fool you.  She’s an absolute beast when it comes to destroying WODs and giving it her all.  Megan comes to Merge day in and day out and she has come so far in the short time she’s been with us.  We are so excited to see where CrossFit will take you.  And now, fellow Mergers, here’s Megan!

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

Three months exactly.

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

I initially read about Merge on yelp.  I was looking for a gym that I could walk to from my house, but the options I had found were pretty bleak.  Merge popped up in the search one day and I thought, “Great! Another gym by my house to check out, and this one actually has good reviews.” At that point, I had no idea about what I was actually getting into. I had never heard of this magical, mystical Crossfit thing before.  By the time I figured it all out, I already had a consultation scheduled, and even though I was scared out of my mind, I went. And loved it.  

What was your first CrossFit Merge WOD experience like?

After the seven-minute intro workout, I couldn’t really walk like a normal person for about six days.  When I finally made it back for a real WOD, I was still sore, but also determined.  We did deadlifts for the skill that day, and I had never even touched a barbell before.  I felt intimidated, but every single person in the gym welcomed me.  And then we did 100 squats and I couldn’t walk for another six days.  

What is something that not a lot of people know about you but you WISH more people COULD know?

I have been vegan for almost eight years.  It is something that I am passionate about, but not preachy. I love all animals except dolphins and horses (just kidding… kinda).

What is your greatest CrossFit Merge accomplishment thus far?

Doing a 12″ box jump.  Doesn’t sound like much, but I spent the first two months just doing “box step-ups.” The first time I finally did a jump, I was pretty proud.  Sometimes I still psych myself out and miss a jump, but I can’t wait until I am able to move up to the next box height (someday).

What is your favorite WOD and why?

Anything that involves rowing.  I love to row.  I also like to repeat the intro session WOD so I can gauge my progress. I don’t think I have done any of the traditional “girl’s name” WODs yet.

What is your least favorite WOD and why?

Anything that involves running.  While I like to jog (slowly… with my dog… sometimes) I really hate running.  The long block totally bums me out on a weekly basis.

What advice would you give a new member?

You will probably be sore for a long time. That is you getting stronger -get used to it and stop whining (someone should have told me this).

Out of all the hours in the day (both sleeping and awake) how much time do you spend working out? Thinking about CrossFit? Dreaming it? Watching vids? etc.

I do think about it a lot.  I try to watch videos of moves I don’t know before class so that I can be a little prepared.  I really find myself paying attention to what I eat now and how it affects my workouts, so that takes up a good chunk of time, too.  And I dream about all the cute crossfit shoes I want to buy.

What would you do if you had a time machine?

1. Tell my 18-year-old self to go to college, so that I wouldn’t be still doing that now, 10 years later.

2. See the Smiths play in 1986.

3. Do some sort of awesome world-changing thing that is so epic I can’t even think of it now.

When was the last time you did something for the first time?

I slept in a ’70s-themed airstream trailer in the middle of the desert last week.  It was an experience I won’t soon forget.

What’s your favorite movie or book or song? Why.

Movie: Valley Girl – because it is the only movie ever where Nic Cage is hot.
Book: The Giver – because I like thinking about utopia.
Song: anything by Morrissey pre-1998 – because it’s Morrissey.

If you could be any superhero who would you be? Why?

I know this will disappoint many people, especially my husband, but I know nothing about superheroes. Does Harry Potter count? If not I will say Spiderman, because all of my preschool students really adore Spiderman.

Where do you see yourself in 1 year?

I would love to be applying to grad schools, going on lots of vacations,and doing one single pull-up.  That last one might take two years, but that’s okay, I can wait.

Megan, you’re such a rockstar!  The CrossFit Merge Team is so proud of all your accomplishments this far.  Trust us, that 20” box has your name written ALL over it 😉

Intermediate Skill  

Power snatch

2 – 2 – 2 – 2 – 2 – 2

Workout of the Day (WOD):

5 rounds for time of:

7 burpees
10 overhead squats (115# for men/73# for women)
7 toes to bar
*sub v-ups for toes to bar

Beginner Skill

Front Squat

3 – 3 – 3 – 3 – 3 – 3 – 3

Post times to comments

One response to “Athlete Spotlight – Megan Hubbard

  • Marianoel

    Skill:

    -10 minutes of hollow rock practice and 1 minute of max hollow rocks
    -Review dumbbell power snatch and kipping pull-up practice for about 10 minutes as well

    WOD:

    3 rounds for time of:
    10 dumbbell power snatches (50/30)
    12 pull-ups or 6 muscle-ups for advanced
    400 meter run

Leave a Reply

