Athlete Spotlight – Kevin Wu

Ladies and gentlemen, for this Athlete Spotlight, I have the honor and privilege of introducing to you, the king of the 70# Kettlebell, Mr. Kevin Wu!

Kevin is a regular in the 6:30 am class — that in itself should tell you how dedicated he is!  He shows up every week, always with a positive attitude and brings his A game to every WOD.  Kevin is not afraid of lifting heavy, really pushing himself, listening to his coaches and he never gives up.  His workout ethic is impeccable.  However, that is not the only reason why we decided to feature him this time.  It’s also his drive, sense of humility, enthusiasm and devonaire smile that makes him one of a kind.  

And without further ado, here’s Kevin!

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

Thirteen months.

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

A friend recommended CrossFit upon hearing I wanted an intense weight loss program, so I picked a gym near my house. My life has not been the same ever since.

What was your first CrossFit WOD experience like?

I don’t remember the WOD, but I remember being completely charmed by the sense of community and the way everyone supported each other and how different that was from my regular gym.

Is there anything you’d like to people to know about you?

I am an avid consumer of independent film and, like so many in this town, am pursuing a career writing and directing feature films.

My favorite food is sushi.

And I really try not to grunt so loudly. Really.

What is your greatest CrossFit accomplishment thus far?

Unbroken double unders and overhead squatting more than 33 lbs. I seriously thought that both were impossible and that I would be the first CrossFit athlete to never be able to do either. Ever.

Also, I heard that Fred said I’m yoked. Did you catch that? Fred Thomas called me yoked!

What is your favorite WOD and why?

Fight Gone Bad. I love the intensity and efficiency — with only a minute to complete each movement, there’s no time to waste catching my breath. Plus, there’s rowing. I like rowing.

What is your least favorite WOD and why?

Karen. No other WOD messes with my head or leaves me wanting to vomit more than Karen does.

What advice would you give a new member?

Follow the Gym Rules — there is some good advice on there. Meet fellow Mergers, and know that you will get better.

How many hours of the day do you spend thinking about CrossFit?

Too many. Friends are tired of hearing about it and have threatened to unsubscribe from my Facebook posts if any more photos of me lifting heavy weight clog their newsfeeds.

If you could trade places with any other person for a week, famous or not famous, living or dead, real or fictional, with whom would it be and why?

Duchess Kate Middleton. I thought too hard about this question and couldn’t come up with anything, so I stopped thinking and this is the first thing I came up with.

How do you feel about Cylons?

Some of them just need to be loved. I’ll refrain from naming my personal favorite lest I spoil things for anyone.

Where do you see yourself one year from now?

Working out regularly at Merge and hopefully competing in the Rx division at a Throwdown.

Kevin, you’re such an asset to Merge!  Thank you for being part of our “family”.  And please remember us when you’re famous!!! 🙂

Intermediate Skill:

Squat clean to thruster

3-3-3-3-3

Intermediate Workout Of The Day (WOD):

10 minute AMRAP of:

20 double-unders
1 squat clean (135# for men/93# for women or 155# for men/103 for women – advanced)
20 double-unders
2 squat cleans
20 double-unders
3 squat cleans…keep adding 1 additional clean

All Levels/Beginner Skill

Thruster

3-3-3-3-3

The noon class WODs it up!

Post times to comments

One response to “Athlete Spotlight – Kevin Wu

  • Marianoel

    Intermediate

    Push Jerk

    1 – 1 – 1 – 1 – 1 – 1 – 1

    Between push jerks, perform 3 max sets of ring dips. Count the total score. Bands on the dips are acceptable.

    WOD

    10 down to 1 of:
    kettlebell swings (70/53)
    and 1 up to 10 of:
    Pull-ups (chest to bar for advanced)

    10 kbs
    1 pull-up
    9 kbs
    2 pull-ups…

    All Levels & Beginner

    Push Press

    3 – 3 – 3 – 1 – 1 – 1

    12 minute AMRAP of:

    10 push presses (75/53)
    10 kettlebell swings (53/35)

Leave a Reply

