Athlete Spotlight – Andrew & Zenda

Let me introduce to you guys Andrew and Zenda.  

Andrew!

Zenda!

These two awesome athletes are regulars of the evening class and are strong, determined, and such a cute couple!  I remember the first time I met Zenda, she rocked the death by sprints and Andrew is one of the strongest guys at Merge.  These guys are awesome to have in class, they are hardworking and consistent.  Its awesome to see couples work out together! You know what they say… couples that work together stay together 🙂

And enough of my rambling, here’s Andrew and Zen

How long have you guys been doing CrossFit?

Andrew: I’ve been doing crossfit for over 4 months
Zenda: close to 2 month

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

Andrew: I yelped crossfit and I picked the logo and name I liked the most. That is also how I pick bottles of wine.
Zenda: I wanted to try a new workout and Andrew said I would like Merge because it’s tough and there are no douchebags.

What was your first CrossFit Merge WOD experience like?

Andrew: Bryce tried talking to me afterwards, and I couldn’t comprehend anything he was saying.
Zenda: I remember feeling really nervous before class and already feeling sore on the car ride home.

What is something that not a lot of people know about you (collectively and/or individually) but you guys WISH more people COULD know?

Andrew: Zenda is a proud Navajo half breed.
Zenda: Andrew is more Oriental than he looks.
Andrew: We can joke this way because it’s true.

What is your greatest CrossFit Merge accomplishment thus far?

Andrew: Sadly, jumping rope more than 10 times unbroken
Zenda: Graduating to 20-inch box jumps

What is your favorite WOD and why?

Andrew: Anything with heavy lifting so I can feel good about myself.
Zenda: Anything with running and kettlebells. I love cardio.

What is your least favorite WOD and why?

Andrew: Anything containing 400m or large block because I’ll finish five minutes after everyone else is done and there’s a good chance I’ll have a calf cramp.
Zenda: Anything with wall ball shots or overhead squats because my squats suck.

What advice would you give a new member?

Zenda: The soreness won’t last forever, but it will last about a month.
Andrew: “Git some!”, “Don’t phone it in.” and other workout cliches.

How has CrossFit affected you as a couple?

Andrew: It’s nice to have something new to talk about after four years.
Zenda: Working out on Friday is our new date night. Thanks for nothing, Bryce. 🙂

How did you guys meet?

Zenda: Andrew is the first person I met at my dorm.
Andrew: I didn’t actually go to her college. I was just wandering the halls after helping a friend move in.
Zenda: It only took him eight years to ask me out.
Andrew: It takes a long time to trick someone into liking you.
Zenda: I didn’t even know his name was Andrew until right before we started dating. I thought it was Boon Boonkrong.
Andrew: Boon is my alter ego.

If you could be any superhero who would you be? Why?

Andrew: Zenda is already the Hulk, so she doesn’t need to answer this. It would have to be someone strong enough to square off with the Hulk. The Red Hulk is the only way to go.
Zenda: Nerd alert: He read up on the Red Hulk for 20 minutes.

Where do you see yourself in 1 year?

Andrew: Super buff and tan.
Zenda: Traveling through Europe.
Andrew: Super buff and tan in Europe.

Andrew and Zenda, thanks for being part of our box.  We enjoy your fun spirit and dedication!  Make sure you send us a postcard from Europe.  Andrew, will you please make us mixed tape?! 😉

Intermediate

Skill

Squat snatches

Every minute on the minute for 12 minutes, perform 1 squat snatch.  Try increasing the weight each minute.

Workout Of the Day (WOD):

15-12-9-12-15 reps of:

Squat snatches (75# for men/53# for women)
Box jumps (24” for men/20” for women)
Pull-ups

All Levels/Beginner

Skill:

In 2:30, run 400 meters, then AMRAP of: hand release push-ups.  Rest 30 seconds, repeat for a total of 3 rounds.  Score total push-ups.

Workout Of the Day (WOD):

15-12-9-12-15 reps of:

Sumo Deadlift High Pull or Squat Snatches (75# for men/53# for women)
Burpee Box Jumps (24” for men/20” for women)

Squat snatches!

Post times to comments

3 responses to “Athlete Spotlight – Andrew & Zenda

Leave a Reply

