Athlete Spotlight – Katie Lusby

Katie is one heck of an athlete.  Since she has been working out with us, she has taken HUGE steps at improving her technique, setting PR’s, and becoming a better crossfitter all around.  All the incredible things she has achieved have not come without a commitment.  Katie is one of the most consistent members we have.  She comes in several times a week, gives it her all during every WOD, and is not afraid to push herself!  Through her hard work, she has been improving leaps and bounds.  And without further ado, fellow crossfitters, here’s Katie!

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

I have been doing crossfit for about two and a half months.

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?  

I looked up the closest crossfit to me. I picked this location out of convenience so that I could not make any excuses not to go.

What was your first CrossFit Merge WOD experience like?

I hadn’t worked out in at least 3 months so I knew it was going to be rough. I think I was making some pretty scary and ugly facial expressions throughout the WOD.  I felt like I was going to vomit and pass out at the same time.

What is something that not a lot of people know about you but you WISH more people COULD know?  

I live to eat. I love trying new foods and eating is my passion. I love going to any food festivals in LA and trying new, weird foods. I have to do crossfit to support my eating habits.

What is your greatest CrossFit Merge accomplishment thus far?

My greatest accomplishment so far is passing my beginner level dead lift test.

What is your favorite WOD and why?  

I like any WOD with deadlifts. It is one of the few exercises I can do with some heavy weight.

Least favorite WOD and why?

I despise any WOD with burpees.  I especially hate having to muster up the energy at the end for the clap.

What advice would you give a new member?  

I would tell a new member to write everything down. It helps you to continually improve yourself and that keeps you from getting bored.

Out of all the hours in the day (both sleeping and awake) how much time do you spend working out? Thinking about CrossFit? Dreaming it? Watching vids? etc.

I work out at Crossfit 3 times a week and then I run twice a week in preparation for a half marathon.   I try to look up the workouts before I come to crossfit so I can mentally prepare myself for the pain.

What was the best movie you saw this last year and why?

I would say my favorite movie last year was Bridesmaids. Kristen Wiig is heelarious!

If you could be an animal, what animal would you want to be?  Why?  

I am very biased because I have two pugs but I would have to say a pug.  They are spoiled, lazy, and love to eat all the time.

What is the ultimate dream vacation?  

My ultimate dream vacation would be to go to  Egypt to visit the pyramids and the valley of the kings.  I would love to explore the inside of all of the pyramids and find some undiscovered treasure. Yes I am an Egypt nerd!

If you had a snail that could magically grant wishes, what would you name it? Why?  

I would call him whatever he wanted me to call him because he is granting me all my wishes!

Where do you see yourself in 1 year?  

If the Mayans are wrong, I see myself in better shape and able to do a real pull up. Oh and a headstand too!

Katie, you a total rockstar!  We are so proud of you and can’t wait to see how you continue to improve.  And for the rest of you, take some tips from Katie on consistency! 🙂

Monday’s Intermediate Skill

Overhead squat

5 – 5 – 3 – 3 – 3

20sec AMRAP of handstand push-up or hold after each set of squats

Workout of the Day (WOD):

3 rounds for time of:
15 ohs (115# for men/73# for women)
20 burpees
20 pull-ups

Beginner’s Skill

Thruster

5 – 5 – 3 – 3

Workout of the Day (WOD):

14 minute AMRAP of:
6 burpees
9 jumping pull-ups
12 jumping squats

Post times to comments

One response to “Athlete Spotlight – Katie Lusby

  • Marianoel

    Tuesday’s Skill

    100 meter sprints x 8
    rest about 1 minute between sprints

    Workout of the Day (WOD):

    10 minute AMRAP of:

    1 box jump (24/20)
    1 Dumbbell squat clean (50/30)
    2 box jumps
    2 squat cleans
    3 box jumps
    3 squat clean…keep increasing the reps

    Beginners will do goblet or dumbbell front squats.

Leave a Reply

