A Fun Way To Eat Zucchini

I’m always looking for fun and easy ways to prepare veggies.  Often times, preparing veggies can get so monotonous.   It’s nice to find nice recipes that add a twist and make greens yummier and still keep it healthy to aid in our active lifestyles.  So here’s an excellent recipe from Nom Nom Paleo on broiling zucchini

Broiling zucchini is my favorite (and easiest) way to prepare this humble vegetable. If you aren’t applying high heat to it (e.g. grilling or broiling), you normally end up with a soggy mess unless you salt the zucchini ahead of time. I don’t normally have the time or forethought to do that, so I just broil it in the oven for about 8-10 minutes. You can simply plate up the roasted slices and drizzle on some acid (vinegar or lemon juice) or you can use them in place of noodles.

This dish is really tasty and a breeze to make — provided you have a mandoline or food processor. Otherwise, you better have some mad knife skillz or this dish won’t be worth the effort.

Here’s what I gathered to make one tray (feeds 2 people):

  • 4 medium zucchini
  • Avocado oil, palm oil, coconut oil, or your favorite fat
  • Kosher salt
  • Pepper
  • Balsamic vinegar or lemon juice
  • Your favorite herbs, chopped (basil, Italian parsley, etc.)

Here’s how I made them:

I preheated the oven to broil and made sure the top rack is about 6 inches from the heating element. I thinly sliced the zucchini (1/4 “ thick) using a mandoline slicer.

 

No mandoline? Benriner makes a cheap one that my chef sister swears by. It’s important to have uniformly thick slices because otherwise it won’t brown evenly.

I lined a baking sheet with aluminum foil. Then, I drizzled a generous amount of avocado oil, salt, and pepper on the foil.

 

I spread the zucchini slices in a single layer on the baking sheet and flipped them over to make sure both sides were greased and seasoned.

 

I also sprinkled some more salt and pepper on top.

I placed the tray in the oven and broiled for about 8-10 minutes, flipping the slices and rotating the tray halfway through.

 

Watch the slices carefully because they can go from lightly browned to charcoal in about a minute.

Depending on how I’m serving the zucchini, I’ll either drizzle the finished slices with my favorite vinegar or lemon juice and top with chopped herbs for a roasted vegetable platter…

 

…or I top it with meatballs and my favorite sauce if I’m making “spaghetti” and meatballs.

 

Fast, tasty, and easy clean-up. I’m all over that!

Monday’s Intermediate Skill

Power clean + front squats

5 – 5 – 3 – 2 – 1

(5 power cleans then after the 5th power clean, keep the weight on the shoulders and perform 5 front squats)

Workout of the Day (WOD):

12 minute AMRAP:

5 bear complexes (95# for men/63# for women)

30 double-unders

Beginner’s Skill

1 minute of max box jumps 

1 minute of max hand release push-ups

1 minute of max single-unders

30 seconds rest between movements

Repeat twice

Workout of the Day (WOD):

12 min AMRAP:

10 wall ball shots

100 meter run

Post time to comments

One response to “A Fun Way To Eat Zucchini

  • Marianoel

    Tuesday’s Skill

    Press 5 – 5 – 5 – 5

    Workout of the Day (WOD):

    3 Tabatas

    Pull-ups (Chest 2 bar advanced)
    Wall ball shots
    Push-ups

    Complete a full Tabata of one movement before moving on. Count the lowest score. No rest between movements

Leave a Reply

