Athlete Spotlight – Adam Abramyan

Let me introduce to you Adam.

Adam is among the strongest athletes here at CrossFit Merge.  In the short time that he has been with us, he has accomplished some pretty incredible goals.  From conquering double-unders to a 425# deadlift! Epitome of rad? I think so!  It’s obvious that he is passionate about this sport and that he wants to grow and continue to improve.   Adam is one of the most determined, most consistent athletes around.  Every time he’s at the box, he not only pushes himself but he is extremely encouraging of all the athletes around him.  He is an awesome part of our CrossFit family and we are so excited to continue to watch him improve and crush any goal that he sets to achieve, because we know he will!

So without further ado…Adam!

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

I have been doing crossfit for almost three months.

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

I drive to Glendale a lot so I looked for a crossfit gym in Glendale and found Crossfit Merge.  I came into the gym, met Bryce and I liked what the gym had to offer, and here I am.

What was your first CrossFit Merge WOD experience like?

It was probably the worst feeling EVER.  I came in thinking that I was in pretty good shape being in the military and all, then after the first workout, not even the real workout, the free introduction workout, I was dying.  So the first thing I said when I was done was, “I SUCK!!!”

What is something that not a lot of people know about you but you WISH more people COULD know?

That’s a tough one.  It would probably be that despite my often intense approach to crossfit, I am a really lazy person.  I don’t really like to work hard or do anything at all.  So please, now that you know this, feel free to not ask me to do anything.  Thank you.

What is your greatest CrossFit Merge accomplishment thus far?

That’s easy, the 425LB Deadlift I did.


What is your favorite WOD and why?

My favorite WOD is any WOD that includes running.

Least favorite WOD and why?

I DESPISE wall ball shots.  So any WOD that includes wall ball shots, I don’t dig it.

What advice would you give a new member?

Anyone who is just starting out in crossfit, I would tell them to make sure they stay consistant.  Make sure you show up every week on a regular basis and keep working hard, before you know it you will be a MACHINE.  Also I would tell them to not be afraid to push themselves.  If a workout is RX, give it a shot, you don’t have to always scale down a workout, that’s how you build confidence and get better, in my opinion.

Out of all the hours in the day (both sleeping and awake) how much time do you spend working out? Thinking about CrossFit? Dreaming it? Watching vids? etc.

I spend an hour at the box and I usually spend another hour on my own working on abs and running.  I am thinking about crossfit when I come accross people who run 15 minutes on a treadmil and think they are in shape, I just spend as much time as needed to let them know that they are not in shape.  I don’t really dream about crossfit, that would be kind of creepy.

If you had one super power, what would it be and why?

That’s easy, invisible.  If I was invisible then no one would see me walk into a bank and take a lot of money from the safe…you know, cuz I’m lazy and don’t like to work…and banks deserve it, they SUCK!, they steal your money, that’s why I keep all my money elsewhere…sorry just went off on a tangent.

What is your all time favorite TV show and why?

Walker, Texas Ranger.  I love Chuck Norris because Jesus may have walked on water, but Chuck Norris swims through people.

If it was the end of the world And you have the choice to live with a gorilla who knows sign language or a dog who sings lullabies, which do you choose and why?

I would probably go with door number 3.  Scarlett Johansson.

Why does glue not stick to the bottle?

Huh?  What kind of question is that?  Is this some kind of a weird psychological test?

Where do you see yourself in 1 year?

I hope to be healthy and injury free, so that I can continue working hard.

Adam, we are so glad to have you as part of our box.  Keep up the amazing work.  You are an inspiration to us all!  And for the rest of you, make sure you talk to Adam about his incredible strength.  Maybe he’ll share some of his secrets with you 😉

Monday’s Intermediate Skill

3 x 5 back squat 
 
L-sit, accumulate 20 seconds after each set of squats
 
Workout of the Day (WOD):
3 rounds for time of:
 
15 hang squat clean to thruster (40# dumbbells for men/25# dumbbells for women)
15 burpees
400 meter run
 
Beginner’s Skill
 
Thruster 
 
5 – 5 – 5 – 5 – 5
 
Max L-sit attempt between each set of thrusters
 
Workout of the Day(WOD):
 
3 rounds for time of:
400 meter run
15 goblet squats
15 burpees


Post times to comments

One response to “Athlete Spotlight – Adam Abramyan

  • Marianoel

    All Levels & Beginner

    15 minutes of headstand practice

    WOD: 20 minute AMRAP of:

    5 burpee pull-ups
    10 air squats
    20 double-unders/60 single-unders

    Intermediate

    15 minutes of headstand practice

    WOD: For time:

    Run 800 meters
    30 wall climbs
    Run 800 meters

Leave a Reply

