Athlete Spotlight – Delaney Narducci

Fun, spunky and totally rad are just a few words to describe how awesome Delaney is.  Talk about an adventurous, sweet, strong, and determined woman.  Since she has been a part of our CrossFit Merge clan, we’ve had nothing but incredible things to say about Delaney.  Her numbers are always off the charts and there’s not a WOD that you don’t see her putting everything into.  Delaney is the epitome of a cool chick and an incredible athlete.

So here is Delaney!!

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

Well, I guess in total, about four months. But because there was a 3.5 month gap in between my first 3 months and my most recent month, I feel like I am back at square 1.5…

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

I heard about Merge from Katie G., who lives next door to me and suggested that I come with her to try it out. I am so happy that she convinced me to try it out because, like most people, I am totally addicted.

What was your first CrossFit WOD experience like?

Truth is, I cannot even remember what my first WOD was. However, I do remember that the first skill was running a mile for time, which I still hate vehemently. THAT WAS JUST THE SKILL, I mean come on! Needless to say, my first day was a little rough, which makes me wonder, why did I keep coming back?!? 😉

 What is something that not a lot of people know about you but you WISH more people COULD know? 

When people ask me where I am from, the simple answer is: Iowa. But the not-so-simple answer is much more interesting.  I grew up in a small town called Fairfield. It is a unique community filled with people from all over the world, which provided me with a multicultural upbringing. Additionally, in school, I practiced meditation and yoga, read Sanskrit and studied Eastern philosophy on a daily basis.  It’s a pretty cool place, especially for being in the middle of nowhere, but definitely a radical upbringing that not everyone knows about.

 What is your greatest CrossFit accomplishment thus far?

I remember the first day that I could do Kipping Pull-ups was so so so so  exciting, especially because I had been working on them for such a long time. I mean any day that I beat a previous record or accomplish something new is pretty awesome.

 What is your favorite WOD and why?

Hmmmm, I am not sure I could say that I “favor” any of the WODs, but I guess I prefer WODs that include sit-ups… So, maybe “Annie” would be one of my favorite ladies.

What is your least favorite WOD and why?

All of them… haha. No, I guess I would say anything with a bunch of wall balls… I think the utter bane of my existence is Kelly, what an evil lady she is.

What advice would you give a new member?

In general, I think I make a fool of myself on a daily basis at Merge. Whether it is because I am trying to figure out a new movement (and failing) or just making a few stupid jokes with fellow mergers, I think these simple things add a lightness to a pretty intense environment, which in turn, help me have greater success in CrossFit. I guess, then, my advice to newer members is to make sure that you have a good time with your classmates because it makes the whole experience a heck-of-a-lot better, and there are some pretty amazing people at this gym.

Out of all the hours in the day (both sleeping and awake) how much time do you spend working out? Thinking about CrossFit? Dreaming it? Watching vids? etc.

Definitely a good amount of time each day. I know that if I am out with fellow crossfitters that we definitely “crossfit-out,” (like broing out, but for crossfitters) i.e. asking each other “What was your Deadlift in that WOD today?” “Are you paleo these days?” etc. I also find myself perusing the internet quite frequently, whether on the Merge Facebook page or somewhere else, to see what other people are up to in the CrossFit world.

If you had one super power, what would it be and why?

Super strength, DUH! I mean why do you think I am at the gym all the time?

If you were written about in the newspaper, on the front page, what would the headline say?

Girl succeeds in making T-Rex arms the newest and hottest fashion trend. (That’s for all of you at Merge that think those post-WOD arms of mine are amazing… I know, they are..)

If you were stranded on a dessert island what items would you bring with you apart from, food, clothes and water?

I mean, I think we all have learned from Pirates of the Caribbean that the key to surviving on a deserted island is an abundant supply of rum.

When was the last time you did something for the first time?

Until this past December, I had never been to New York City, despite having travelled all over the world in my youth.  So when I finally made it there for the first time, I was so thrilled and had the most AMAzing time. Though, I have to say, I am definitely glad I live in Cali Cali with all the sunshine, warm weather, and relaxed people.

Where do you see yourself in 1 year?

I mean realistically I have NO idea, but hopefully I am as happy with life as I am today! In my dreams, I see myself sitting by the beach and watching the ocean… that would definitely be ideal.

In terms of CrossFit, I am thinking it would be pretty great to compete in the open next year, but I definitely have a looooonnnnnnngg way to go.

Delaney, next Open…bring it on!!! 😀 And for the rest of you, if you haven’t had the pleasure of getting to know Delaney, DO SO NOW!!! You’re missing out on an awesome friend.

Monday’s Skill

3 push presses (snatch grip, behind the neck), then right into
3 overhead squats

1-1-1-1-1

Workout of the Day (WOD)

10 – 9 – 8 – 7…all the way down to 1 reps of:
-overhead squats (95 # for men/63# for women)
-pull-ups
-wall ball shots (20# for men/14# for women)

Beginner’s Skill

Front Squat
3 – 3 – 3 – 3 – 3

Workout of the Day (WOD)

14 minute AMRAP of:
7 box jumps
7 wall ball shots
Run with medicine ball to driveway and back

Raffi & Jay WODing it up!

Fred, Kevin, Raffi & Adrienne work on their pull ups.

Got OHS?

Post times to comments

One response to “Athlete Spotlight – Delaney Narducci

Leave a Reply

