Athlete Spotlight – Morgan

If you haven’t met Morgan, you are missing out on a treat.  Talk about a one-of-a-kind, totally rad chick with the biggest heart ever!

Morgan is one of the most inspirational athletes we have seen here at Merge. From WOD to WOD, she gives it her all and more. Her honesty and determination in the workouts are amazing!   She has a heart to succeed and in all honesty, we couldn’t be more proud of her accomplishments. Not only is she an inspiration to us, but she also makes this gym a better place. We are so happy you have been with us Morgan!  Thank you for everything you bring to this box!

And enough rambling, we bring to you, The Queen of Karaoke…Morgan!

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

On and off for about three years but consistently at Merge since March 2011!

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

Google maps. Pretty boring answer, sorry readers.

What was your first CrossFit WOD experience like?

In 2008, I had just moved home from Italy (which looked like a year of bread, pasta, pizza, gelato and midafternoon napping) and I did the Baseline workout: 500m Row, 40 Squats, 30 Sit ups, 20 Push-ups and 10 Pull ups. I wanted to die but in the kinda good way.

Is there anything you’d like to people to know about you?

I really love my dog Danica. I have a degree in Art History, I have an intense nostalgia for the 1950s, I am a wannabe meditator, I am a wannabe yogi, I have been known to “get hyphy”, I think Justin Bieber looks like a beautiful woman and I am shamelessly in love with her, I am an activist and I love me a good protest, and I am obsessed with photo booths.

What is your greatest CrossFit accomplishment thus far?

Getting double-unders was really fun. I did a body weight deadlift which was exciting and I beat my partner by one calorie in a rowing workout which was totally a B.F.D.!

What is your favorite WOD and why?

My ideal WOD would be a long one filled with double-unders, clean and jerks, sit-ups, and running. I also have a long standing crush on Murph but we only hang out once a year because he hurts me so every time.

Least favorite WOD and why?

This is so cliché but Fran. Fran is so rude, we are not friends! Also a WOD consisting of over-head squats, ring dips, burpees and hand stand pushups would be a deathly combination of all my enemies and I would probably pretend to go to the bathroom and just run home.

What advice would you give a new member?

Nutrition is important! I know it is a lot of extra time and energy but feeding the body properly should not be overlooked. Also, keep a log. It is really beneficial to track your progress. You WILL progress, there are no ‘maybes’ there. It might not be as fast or in the ways you first thought you would but you will progress if you consistently follow the program. Be kind to yourself, CrossFit is really hard. Lastly, I borrow the AA mantra all the time when it is 6am and I am cold and sleepy “keep coming back; it works if you work it!”

If you could trade places with any other person for a week, famous or not famous, living or dead, real or fictional, with whom would it be and why?

Danica, because she is so effortlessly cute and she spends all her days eating treats, snoozing and getting tummy rubs. I guess she is not really a human though so runner up would be Ellen DeGeneres because I think she is just beyond.

If someone wrote a biography about you, what do you think the title should be?

THE MO (black font, all caps with a solid gold cover)

What are you favorite hobbies?

CrossFit of course! In addition, I am really into crafting (namely crochet), I love to read fiction novels, I love HBO, SHOWTIME and AMC series’ (I get seriously addicted) and I like to hike/camp/be outdoors. And hanging out with Dani, obvs.

Where do you see yourself one year from now?

In San Francisco with my partner and Dani, and at a job that I love, one year closer to my CrossFit goals, planning my monthly visit back to LA and Merge to see all you beautiful people.

Thanks for sharing your energy with us, Morgan! We will miss your enthusiasm in the 6:30am class but we are looking forward to your future visits with us.  We know that you’re moving on to some incredible things in San Francisco and we wish you the best of luck in all your endeavors!

Wednesday’s Skill:

15 minute to find a 1 rep max snatch

Workout of the Day (WOD):

5 rounds for time of:

5 snatches (115#/78# for women)

10 lateral barbell hop burpees

30 double-unders

Beginner Skill:

Thruster

2 – 2 – 2 – 2 – 2

12 minute, as many rounds as possible (AMRAP) of:

10 unbroken kettlebell swings

10 striders (jumping lunges)

All kettlebell swings must be done in a row, no breaking up the reps or you must start over.

Power Hour/Strength Class

Back Squat

Part A:

5 x 5 (5 sets of 5 reps at the same weight, about ~80% of your 1 rep max)

Part B:

Tabata dumbbell push presses

Count the lowest score in each of the intervals

Post times and rounds to comments.

4 responses to “Athlete Spotlight – Morgan

Leave a Reply

