Athlete Spotlight – Annelise

Annelise is one of the coolest people you will ever meet!  She usually joins us for the 7:30 pm class and is always a pleasure to have.  She has been incredibly determined in attending every week which has proven to help her achieve some pretty awesome goals.  In the 10 months that she has been part of the Merge clan, Annelise has displayed wonderful determination, heart, and courage to get through each WOD.  Not only is she consistent with her workouts, but she’s consistent with her diet!  To push it even further, she has been eating Paleo for the last several months!

And without further ado, here’s Annelise!

How long have you been doing CrossFit?

Since February so…almost 10 months! Time really does fly when you’re having fun 😛

How did you hear about CrossFit Merge?

I Googled CrossFit places near where I lived and both Merge and a place in Pasadena popped up. They were both pretty equidistant from my house but the Pasadena one was closed so I chose Merge!

What’s your athletic background?

Extremely minimal. I did AYSO and softball as a youngin’ but I was never really into team sports all that much. I’m a pretty avid gamer but my goal has always been to not have the physique to match. I kind of went from zero to CrossFit.

Is there anything you’d like to people to know about you?

I’m an archaeologist! I love telling people about it because it’s something I’m passionate about and it’s a great conversation starter. I’m always happy to answer any burning questions about ancient things!

What is your greatest CrossFit accomplishment thus far?

Deadlifting my bodyweight! I never thought I’d be able to do something like that in a million years so I’m pretty proud of that.

What is your favorite WOD and why?

Anything that involves deadlifts and/or jump rope, since I’m pretty good at both of those. I WILL get those double-unders one day!

What is your least favorite WOD and why?

Fight Gone Bad is pretty brutal. I blame the rowing.

What does CrossFit mean to you?

This is going to sound pretty cheesy, but it’s more than just fitness. It’s a great community, a fantastic lifestyle and a force for positive changes in my life. Not to mention it’s really fun!

What advice would you give a new member?

Stretch REALLY well before that first WOD and be prepared to have the most fun you’ve ever had while also experiencing the most brutal workout you’ve ever had.

If Hollywood made a movie about your life, whom would you like to see play the lead role as you and why?

People say I look like Maggie Gyllenhaal so I guess she’d be the obvious choice, but I’d probably opt for someone a bit more awesome like Alison Brie from ‘Community’.

What is your favorite color and why?

Green! It’s versatile and it brings out my eyes 😛

If you were a type of food, what type of food would you be?

Probably something Indian or Middle Eastern, since that’s what I’ve been eating a lot of lately. And it’s pretty paleo-friendly!

Annelise, thank you for being an awesome part of our CrossFit family!  We are so excited to continue to watch you improve and crush any goal that you set to achieve.  Bring on the double unders 🙂  And for the rest of you, make sure you say hi to Annelise and ask her about archeology!!!

Additionally, a big thanks goes to CrossFit Merge Intern Marianoel for putting these Athlete Spotlights together.  They’re pretty effing rad, right?

Tuesday’s Skill

Max box jumps in 1 minute

2 sets

Focus on rebounding off the floor with a strong plyometric bounce

Workout of the Day (WOD):

Michael

3 rounds for time of:

Run 800 meters

50 back extensions

50 sit-ups

Substitute GHD hip extensions or good mornings for back extensions

Great range of motion and form from Brian.  That’s what we call virtuosity in CrossFit.  

Who held the bottom of the squat longer, Brian or Chris?  Checkout the video on Facebook to find out the result.  

Leave a Reply

