Why Do You Do CrossFit?

Why do you do CrossFit?  

Let’s be honest, CrossFit is not the only good fitness program out there.  I personally think it’s the best, but it also requires much more time, patience, humility, hard work, and commitment compared to other fitness routines.  

I do CrossFit because I want to be fit and healthy.  Being physically capable was a very important part of my life when I was a Marine; it could have potentially meant the difference between mission success or failure.  But being fit is only part of my motivation for doing CrossFit.  I also do CrossFit because it’s hard and challenges me as an athlete.  

Before CrossFit, a good workout for me was getting sweaty.  Calories burned and time in the gym were the numbers that mattered.  Now I train with a purpose.  CrossFit has flat out told me what my strengths and weaknesses are, and it forced me to set goals if I wanted to get better.  Heavy breathing and sweating at the end of  a workout are no longer the point.  Now I ask myself if I got a little better or worse each day I train.  

So, why do you do CrossFit?  Have your reasons changed since you started?  Post to the comments.

Thursday’s Workout of the Day (WOD):

‘Sissy Test’

For time, complete the following:

20, 19, 18, 17…down to 1 of kettlebell swings (35#/26# for women)

coupled with:

1, 2, 3, 4…up to 20 of burpees

This is a volume workout for sure.  210 kettlebell swings paired with 210 burpees.  Outstanding job to everyone that did his WOD yesterday.  It took a lot of mental stamina to continuously pick yourself up off the floor to finish the burpees.  

Fred, Morgan, Chris and Amanda starting their day off with a little 30 minute workout.

One response to “Why Do You Do CrossFit?

  • Marianoel

    I started crossfit because it was cool, fun, different, challenging. I continue to crossfit for the same reasons, but now it’s also become a way of life — it’s difficult to use words to describe…one has to experience it to understand it 🙂 I crossfit because I love it.

Leave a Reply

